35.8 C
Friday, May 24, 2024

12 basketball greats inducted into FIBA Hall of Fame 2023 in Manila

Must read

MANILA (Philippines) – A group of 12 individuals who made remarkable contributions to international basketball have been officially inducted into the FIBA Hall of Fame as members of the Class of 2023. The enshrinement ceremony took place at the Sofitel Philippine Plaza in Manila, Philippines.

This year’s group includes legendary players Yao Ming (China), Penny Taylor (Australia), Yuko Oga (Japan), Katrina McClain (USA), Amaya Valdemoro (Spain), Wlamir Marques (Brazil), Angelo Monteiro dos Santos Victoriano (Angola), Sony Hendrawan (Indonesia); with both Carlos Loyzaga (Philippines) and Zurab Sakandelidze (Georgia) being inducted posthumously. The Class also includes deserved recognition for coaching duo Valerie Garnier (France) and Alessandro Gamba (Italy).

FIBA President Hamane Niang hailed the impact of each and celebrated their induction by saying: “We are honored to welcome these great basketball personalities into the FIBA Hall of Fame. The FIBA Hall of Fame is not only part of our basketball tradition, it is an institution that recognizes those who brought our sport to the level of popularity that it has today and inspires the next generation.”

FIBA Secretary General Andreas Zagklis concluded the induction ceremony by stating: “Since 2007, we have welcomed into the FIBA Hall of Fame those who made the game. Coaches and players who have made their country and their club proud during FIBA competitions such as the World Cup. This is why we are honored to welcome these 12 fantastic basketball personalities into the 2023 Class of the FIBA Hall of Fame in the Philippines.”

The organization of the FIBA Hall of Fame 2023 Ceremony in one of the host countries of the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023 reflects FIBA’s desire and duty to pay tribute to those who played key roles in shaping the history of the game.

More articles

Newest article