25.1 C
Sunday, July 21, 2024

FIBA Confirms Participating Clubs For 2023-24 European Qualifiers


The world basketball governing body, The International Basketball Federation (FIBA) has announced the list of clubs that will slug it out in 2023-24 FIBA Europe Cup Season.

The organization made this know in press statement released on Thursday and sent to ChatNews TV.

According to FIBA,  “The clubs that will participate in the 2023-24 FIBA Europe Cup season have been confirmed along with the format of the Qualifiers.

A total of 35 clubs representing 23 National Federations registered to take part in the ninth edition of the competition. Of those, 13 clubs have been placed directly into the Regular Season, while the remaining 22 clubs will compete in the Qualifiers.

There will be seven Qualifying Tournaments taking place from October 3-5 with the winner of each tournament advancing to the Regular Season, which has been extended for the 2023-24 season to feature 40 clubs split across 10 groups of four.”

Meanwhile, 21 clubs have also opted in from the Basketball Champions League Qualifiers, of which a maximum of 20 will join the field for the FIBA Europe Cup Regular Season.

The clubs with direct berths to the Regular Season are as follows:

BC Balkan (BUL)
ERA Basketball Nymburk (CZE)
Bilbao Basket (ESP)
BCM Gravelines Dunkerque (FRA)
Niners Chemnitz (GER)
Arconic-Alba Fehervar (HUN)
Hapoel Galil Elion (ISR)
ZZ Leiden (NED)
PGE Spojnia Stargard (POL)
Anwil Wloclawek (POL)
Sporting CP (POR)
Bahcesehir (TUR)

The pots for the Qualifying Tournaments are as follows:

Pot 1:
Donar Groningen (NED)
FC Porto (POR)
Egis Kormend (HUN)
Keravnos BC (CYP)
BC Parnu Sadam (EST)
Casademont Zaragoza (ESP)
Kataja Basket (FIN)

Pot 2:
BC Trepca (KOS)
KFUM Jamtland BBK (SWE)
Bnei Herzliya (ISR)
CS Rapid Bucuresti (ROU)
Manisa BSB (TUR)
Rostock Seawolves (GER)
BC Chernomorec (BUL)

Pot 3:
Anorthosis Famagusta (CYP)
BK KVIS Pardubice (CZE)
Tindastoll (ISL)
Nevezis-Optibet (LTU)
BC Rabotnicki Skopje (MKD)
BC Feniks 2010 (MKD)
Boras Basket (SWE)

Pot 4:
Sabah BC (AZE)

Six of the tournaments will consist of three teams with one tournament made up of four teams. The format sees the teams play each other in a round-robin style group with the winner of each tournament qualifying.

As clubs that have opted in from the Basketball Champions League Qualification Rounds could qualify to the BCL Regular Season, this may lead to additional spots in the Regular Season of the FIBA Europe Cup opening up.

These spots would be filled with the best ranked second-placed clubs from the FIBA Europe Cup Qualifying Tournaments in accordance to Section D of the Official Basketball Rules.

The draw for the FIBA Europe Cup Regular Season and Qualifiers will take place in Munich, Germany on Tuesday, August 8.

More articles

Latest Articles