30.4 C
Monday, May 27, 2024

Honorary FIBA President Hamane Niang appointed as new President of the FIBA Foundation

Must read

MANILA (Philippines) – Honorary FIBA President Hamane Niang will serve as the new President of the FIBA Foundation after being appointed to the role yesterday during the hybrid Board Meeting.

This came alongside a number of other key appointments for the 2023-2027 period, with President Niang picking up the reins from another FIBA Honorary President in the shape of Horacio Muratore. He took up the role in 2019 and will continue as a Board Member in the new cycle.  In addition, the Board has appointed Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas Chairman Emeritus Manuel V Pangilinan as the Vice-President.

“I’m proud to be taking up this position with the FIBA Foundation, which has a tremendous track record of 16 years in using basketball as a powerful driver to make a positive difference to so many communities around the world,” said Niang.

The FIBA Foundation Board has reached a milestone by appointing three women on the Board for the first time, including  FIBA Hall of Famer Michelle Timms, as well as another legendary player and World Cup winner in the person of Predrag Stojakovic.

“Along with my fellow Board Members, I will be dedicated to making sure the FIBA Foundation continues to move from strength to strength. The focus will remain on using basketball as an important and valuable source for good, as well as preserving and enhancing the cultural heritage of our fantastic sport,” expressed Hamane Niang.

FIBA’s social and legacy arm, the Foundation, uses the power of basketball to initiate positive social change and to act as the global reference for international historic basketball knowledge. The two main pillars are ‘Basketball For Good’ and ‘Cultural Heritage’.

The Basketball For Good Priorities includes projects globally that harness Mini Basketball, Youth Leadership, and Community Impact. The Cultural Heritage Priorities are focused on supporting and developing basketball collections and historical archives, the Patrick Baumann House of Basketball, the community of Basketball Historians, and the FIBA Hall of Fame.

The new FIBA Foundation Board for the term 2023-2027 is:
Hamane Niang, President
Manuel V Pangilinan, Vice President
Ingo Weiss, Treasurer
Andreas Zagklis, Secretary General
Sheikh Saud Ali Al-Thani, Member
H. H. Shaikh Isa Ali Khalifa Al Khalifa, Member
Jane Maywald, Member
Mohammed Saad Al-Meghaiseeb, Member
Evangelos Liolios, Member
Horacio Muratore, Member
Kiyofumi Tamiaki, Member
Jingnan Xu, Member
Predrag Stojakovic, Member
Jennifer Williams, Member
Michele Timms, Member
Ulf Mehrens (IWBF), Member

New Heads of Advisory Committee
Jane Maywald, Head of Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee
H.H. Shaikh Isa Ali Khalifa Al-Khalifa, Head of Basketball For Good Advisory Committee

More articles

Newest article