25.1 C
Sunday, July 21, 2024

Miami win FIBA 3×3 World Tour Cebu Masters 2023


CEBU (Philippines) – Fourth-seeded Miami (USA) achieved a remarkable victory in the FIBA 3×3 World Tour Cebu Masters 2023. They secured their first World Tour title of the year by defeating Vienna (AUT), 22-19, in an electrifying final held on September 24 at SM Seaside City.

This triumph was especially significant for Miami, as they had previously been unable to reach a FIBA 3×3 World Tour final in their past attempts. However, in this tournament, they demonstrated their dominance by remaining undefeated on the opening day and continuing their winning streak throughout the knockout rounds on the second day. Their path to the final included a thrilling victory over their rivals, Ub Huishan NE, in the semi-finals.

In the championship match, they faced the third-seeded Vienna team, led by the dynamic duo of Quincy Diggs and Matthias Linortner.

Miami got off to a strong start, establishing a 4-1 lead early in the game, showcasing their exceptional teamwork and impressive shooting skills. However, Vienna, fueled by Linortner’s strong play, came roaring back to make it a nip-and-tuck affair.

The Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the tournament, Jimmer Fredette, displayed his offensive prowess by sinking three two-pointers amidst tight defense in the final. His timely baskets helped Miami clinch the huge win.

In the crucial moments of the match, Fredette and the sharpshooter Canyon Barry proved to be the difference-makers for Miami. Their outstanding performances down the stretch secured USA’s first 3×3 World Tour Masters title since 2019.

Fredette finished the final with 9 points, 4 rebounds and 2 highlights, earning him the prestigious title of World Tour MVP.

In the individual contests, Ulaanbaatar Steve Sir won the Shoot-Out Contest presented by Chooks-to-Go, while Rafal “Lipek” Lipinski thrilled the Cebuano fans to claim the Chooks Dunk Contest crown.

1. Miami (USA)
2. Vienna (AUT)
3. Ub Huishan NE (SRB)
4. Amsterdam HiPRO (NED)
5. Ulaanbaatar MMC Energy (MGL)
6. Wuxi (CHN)
7. San Juan (PUR)
8. Manila Chooks (PHI)
9. Paris (FRA)
10. Lubao MCFASolver (PHI)
11. Sansar MMC Energy (MGL)
12. Futian (CHN)
13. Auckland (NZL)
14. Taichung Hong Jia (TPE)

After a short break, the FIBA 3×3 World Tour 2023 returns (October 6 to 7) in Amsterdam,  to celebrate the 100th Masters in World Tour history.

More articles

Latest Articles