25.1 C
Sunday, July 21, 2024

Senate Defers Okotete, El-Rufai, Danladi ministerial confirmation


The Nigerian Senate today, put the ministerial confirmation of the former governor of Kaduna State Nasir El-Rufai, Stella Okotete and Abubakar Danladi on hold as they are still undergoing security clearance.

This is coming after the Senate on Monday concluded the screening of 45 of the 48 ministerial nominees of President Bola Tinubu, confirming them as cabinet members after a week of long interrogation.

The confirmation comes over a week after Tinubu’s transmitted a 28-member list to the red chamber for confirmation on July 27.

Already, the Senate has screened former governor of Rivers State Nyesom Wike; Abubakar Kyari of Borno State; Nkiruka Onyejeocha (Abia State); Bello Muhammad (Sokoto State); Sani Abubakar Danladi (Taraba State); and Badaru Abubakar (Jigawa State).

Others are Joseph Utsev (Benue State), Olubunmi Tunji Ojo (Ondo State), Betta Edu (Cross River State), Uju Kennedy Ohaneye (Anambra State), Abubakar Momoh (Edo State), John Enoh (Cross River State), Iman Suleiman Ibrahim (Nasarawa State), and Yusuf Maitama Tuggar (Bauchi State).

Also, Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna) and Dave Umahi (Ebonyi); Wale Edun, Uche Nnaji, Stella Okotete, Adebayo Adelabu, Ekperikpe Ekpo, Hannatu Musawa, and Musa Dangiwa.

While the former minister of Labour and Employment, Mr Festus Keyamo was the last to be confirmed today after he was asked to apologize to the Senate over his overbearing and disrespectful attitude to the 9th Senate.

More articles

Latest Articles